Gospel According to Jesus (20th Anniv. Ed.)

$27.00 $24.30
Article number: 9780310287292, q01
Availability: In stock

Gospel According to Jesus

Author: John MacArthur

The first edition of The Gospel According to Jesus won wide acclaim in confronting the “easy-believism” that has characterized some aspects of evangelical Christianity. Over the past 50 years, a handful of books have become true classics, revered world-wide for their crystal-clear presentation of the Gospel and lauded for their contribution to the Christian faith.

These extraordinary books are read, re-read, and discussed in churches, Bible study groups, and homes everywhere. John MacArthur’s The Gospel According to Jesus is one of those books. In The Gospel According to Jesus, MacArthur tackles the idea of “easy believism,” challenging Christians to re-evaluate their commitment to Christ by examining their fruits.

MacArthur asks, “What does it really mean to be saved?” He urges readers to understand that their conversion was more than a mere point in time, that, by definition, it includes a lifetime of obediently walking with Jesus as Lord. This 20th anniversary edition of MacArthur’s provocative, Scripture-based book contains one new chapter and is further revised to provide Christians in the 21st century a fresh perspective on the intrinsic relationship between faith and works, clearly revealing Why Jesus is both Savior and Lord to all who believe.

–––––––––– Table of Contents ––––––––––

Part One: Today’s Gospel: Good News or Bad?

  1. What Does Jesus Mean When He Says, “Follow Me”?
  2. A Look at the Issues

Part Two: Jesus Heralds His Gospel

  1. He Calls for a New Birth
  2. He Demands True Worship
  3. He Receives Sinners but Refuses the Righteous
  4. He Opens Blind Eyes
  5. He Challenges an Eager Seeker
  6. He Seeks and Saves the Lost
  7. He Condemns a Hardened Heart
  8. He Offers a Yoke of Rest

Part Three: Jesus Illustrates His Gospel

  1. The Soils
  2. The Wheat and Tares
  3. The Treasure of the Kingdom
  4. The First and Last
  5. The Lost and Found
  6. The Vine and the Branches

Part Four: Jesus Explains His Gospel

  1. The Call to Repentance
  2. The Nature of True Faith
  3. The Promise of Justification
  4. The Way of Salvation
  5. The Certainty of Judgment
  6. The Cost of Discipleship
  7. The Lordship of Christ

Part Five: Jesus Fulfills His Gospel

  1. Tetelestai!: The Triumph Is Complete

Part Six: Appendixes

  1. The Gospel According to the Apostles
  2. The Gospel According to Historic Christianity
  3. Answers to Common Questions

304 pp. Hardcover.

0 stars based on 0 reviews